Refers to the grouping or segmenting of audiences beyond standard demographics such as age, gender and income. For example, audiences can be segmented by: • Location (e.g. postcode, proximity to a store) • Behaviour (e.g. fashionista) • Attitude (e.g. early technology adopter) • Intention (e.g. travel intender) • Ownership (e.g. dog owner) • Lifestyle (e.g. gym junkie)
Describes a situation where a specific group is exposed to a given medium more than other groups (or the overall population). For example: News can attract a slightly older viewer. Its audience is therefore skewed towards the older age groups.
Branded content is the place where advertising and entertainment collide to create true consumer engagement. By using different platforms and devices you can interact with consumers on their terms, when, where and how they want to.
This is the share one channel has of all viewing for a particular time period. The share, expressed as a percentage, is calculated by dividing the channel’s average audience by the average audience of all channels (PUTs).
The price an advertiser pays every time an online video ad runs through to completion. Cost Per Completed View (CPCV) can be used as a measurement of inventory efficiency, or as a currency for trading video. For example, rather than paying for all impressions, some of which may have been stopped part-way, an advertiser only pays an agreed fee for ads that are viewed to completion (CPCV=Cost/ Completed Views). This is relevant for online-only video platforms such as Facebook, but not for TV where all ads run to completion regardless of whether they are shown online or broadcast.
The cost of reaching a single TARP (Target Audience Rating Point, or one per cent of a demographic/audience segment viewing a broadcast programme at the time). CPT is expressed as the dollar cost of advertising within a programme divided by the number of TARPs it will (or does) achieve. CPT=Total Cost/TARPs. For example, if the Nightly News Bulletin costs $4,000 for a 30 second spot and achieves 8 TARPs against the specified target audience, then the Cost Per TARP (CPT) is: $500.
Cost Per Thousand (CPM) is the cost an advertiser pays to deliver 1,000 ad impressions. CPM = Total Cost/ Impressions x 1000. CPM is calculated by dividing the cost of an advertising placement by the number of people or impressions it delivers (expressed in thousands). For example, if the Nightly News Bulletin costs $4,000 for a 30 second spot and achieves an audience of 500,000 then the Cost Per Thousand (CPM) is $8. Why CPM? CPM is used as a comparative device. CPM may be calculated for print, broadcast or any other medium and the audience base may be either circulation, homes reached, readers or any kind of demographic. A CPM takes into consideration changes in universes.
Freeview comprises a group of free to air broadcasters (MediaWorks, Maori Television Service, TVNZ and Radio New Zealand) who have worked as a not-for-profit co-operative to create a digital platform on which their channels can be broadcast.
The number of times an individual is exposed to an advertising campaign, programme or time slot. For digital video, frequency is usually managed through the implementation of a Frequency Cap (see definition below) when planning media, as higher frequency levels usually come at the expense of reach. This is reported as average frequency and calculated as total number of impressions/reach = average frequency.
Can be defined as the opportunity to hear/see a communication message. Translated: Impressions are the number of times the consumer has been exposed to one commercial impression. Examples: One impression is one person’s opportunity to see one message, therefore if the same viewer watches two ads in the same break or two insertions of the same press execution, that is two impressions. BASE: All media
Television ratings (TV ratings or TVRs) are expressed as a percentage of the potential TV audience viewing at any given time. If an advertising spot achieves 1 TVR this means that 1% of the relevant target audience watched the spot being transmitted.
TARP stands for Target Audience Rating Point and it refers to the proportion of an advertisers target audience that is exposed to a campaign or programme. TARPs are typically used for TV advertising that is brought against a specific demographic or audience segment. TARP = Average audience viewing a programme / target universe estimate x 100 ‘Universe estimates’ estimate the total audience size. For example, in 2019, the universe estimate for Melbourne metro is 5,243,200. So let’s say 720,000 women aged 25-to-39 were exposed to an advertising campaign from a total universe of 4,800,000 people, then the campaign delivers a TARP of 15 since 720,000 divided by 4,800,000 equals 15.
Linear TV recorded on a Personal Video Recorder (PVR), VCR or other form of time-shifting technology and watched after the live broadcast. Also referred to as Playback TV. Can be viewed up to 7 days from broadcast.